Full list of 32 nations that will play the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar

The stage is set. Here are the final 32 teams that are heading to #Qatar2022.

The 32 countries qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cup are Argentina, Brazil, England, France, Spain, Belgium, Portugal, Germany, The Netherlands, Uruguay, Croatia, Denmark, Mexico, the United States, Senegal, Wales, Poland, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Switzerland, Ghana, Korea Republic, Cameroon, Serbia, Canada, Costa Rica, Tunisia, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Ecuador. And hosts Qatar will lead the way in the opening match of the tournament.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino has congratulated all 32 nations on their qualification for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™.

As aforementioned, there are 32 nations slated to play in Qatar. Besides the host nation, which receives an automatic spot in the competition, the remaining 31 teams must earn qualification from their respective continental governing body: Africa (CAF), Asia (AFC), Europe (UEFA), North America/Central America/Caribbean (CONCACAF) and South America (CONMEBOL). 

Those spots are divided by region: Africa (5), Asia (4, along with Qatar this year), Europe (13), North America/Central America/Caribbean (3) and South America (4). 

Two spots were also determined via intercontinental playoff qualifiers. Australia (Asia) beat Peru (South America) for a spot while Costa Rica (Caribbean) earned the other.

How many groups are in the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

The 32 nations are then divided into eight groups for the group stage round. Those eight groups are lettered by the alphabet: Group A, B, C, D, E, F, G and H. The teams competing in each went live after the World Cup draw on April 1. 

The two teams with the most points after three group-stage games then advance to the first knockout round. Play continues in a single-elimination format the rest of the way until a winner is crowned. 

Who are the teams in the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

These are the 32 nations playing in Qatar, sorted by group:

Group A: Qatar, Netherlands, Senegal, Ecuador

Group B: England, USA, Wales, Iran

Group C: Argentina, Poland, Mexico, Saudi Arabia

Group D: France, Denmark, Tunisia, Australia

Group E: Germany, Spain, Japan, Costa Rica

Group F: Belgium, Croatia, Canada, Morocco

Group G: Brazil, Switzerland, Serbia, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Uruguay, Ghana, Korea Republic

Out of all the countries that made it to this stage, there are at least five of them who are considered favourites to win the cup by the end of it. It’s been a long road towards the final stage of the World Cup, especially during pandemic times but we finally made it. Come November, Qatar will become the football capital of the world.

  • Achuthan Nair Fathers Day

    ഡ്രൈവറായിരുന്ന അച്ഛന് 84–ാം വയസില്‍ മക്കളുടെ സമ്മാനം, അച്ഛൻ ആദ്യം ഓടിച്ച കാര്‍…

  • Kannur International Airport in trouble

    കണ്ണൂർ വിമാനത്താവളത്തിന്റെ ചിറകരിയുന്നോ?

  • CBSE Results - Thiruvananthapuram tops in India

    തിരുവനന്തപുരത്തിന് അഭിമാനനിമിഷം… തിരുവനന്തപുരം ഇന്ത്യയിൽ ഒന്നാമത് | CBSE Class 12 Results – Thiruvananthapuram Region Tops in India

  • UAE astronaut Sultan Al Neyadi shares breathtaking ‘starry’ view of Dubai from space

    UAE astronaut Sultan Al Neyadi shares stunning ‘starry’ view of Dubai from space.

Share Post

More Posts

Bridal Stories